R.L. Stine on Writing


Here is some stuff from R.L. Stine, the author of the Goosebumps series, which I think y’all will like 🙂

I think too often teachers present writing as something that is very serious. I hate it when people tell kids, ‘Write what you know. Write from your heart. ‘

That’s terrifying; I’ve never written a word from my heart, never. I’ve been writing for 30 years, and I’ve never written a single word from my heart, and I never write about what I know. I think that makes writing sound too hard, it makes it sound like work

 

I tell kids to write to entertain yourself, write to be entertained. Writing should be fun. I tell them about all the insane things I’ve written just because I love to write.

You don’t have to write serious literature, you don’t have to be an artist to be a writer. I’ve written GI Joe books, coloring books, even bubble gum cards.

 

Click here for a full interview with R.L. Stine on TeenInk.com. =)

I'd love your thoughts!

